Cloverland Electric Announces 2023 Board of Director Candidates

 //For Immediate Release//

Sault Ste. Marie, MI (March 9, 2023) – Cloverland Electric Cooperative announces the candidates eligible for election to its board of directors. Candidate biographies will be published on and in the May | June issue of Cloverland Connections magazine. Ballots mail April 28, 2023 and voting ends May 26, 2023. Members can vote by mailed ballots or electronic voting. Election results will be presented at Cloverland’s Annual Meeting of the Members on Thursday, June 1, 2023 and published on Candidates are presented by membership district in alphabetical order.

District A: unopposed
William LaLonde – St. Ignace

District B:
John Sawruk – Sault Ste. Marie
Richard Tuhro – Sault Ste. Marie

District C:
Virgil Monroe – Manistique
Isaac Swisher – Manistique

Ballots will not be mailed to districts with unopposed candidates; ballots will only be mailed to members in districts B and C. Cloverland members have until the date of record — Friday, March 31, 2023 – to update their account information on file with the cooperative. If a membership is held jointly, such as with a spouse, then either member may cast the vote for the membership. The name(s) of those eligible to cast the vote for each membership will be printed on the ballot.

Businesses, associations, firms, partnerships, governmental units and other entities must file a voter designation letter with the cooperative by the date of record confirming the authorized voting representative. Voter designation letters must include a company logo or company letterhead. A sample letter is available on

As a not-for-profit, democratically controlled utility, Cloverland Electric is governed by a nine-member board. The cooperative’s five-county service area is divided into three membership districts. Each district is represented by three directors elected by the members of that district to serve a three-year term. One seat is up for election in each district annually.

Cloverland Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit, member-owned utility located in Michigan’s Eastern Upper Peninsula that energizes 43,000 meters for 34,000 residential and businesses members in Chippewa, Mackinac, Luce, Schoolcraft and Delta counties.

Read candidate biographies 

# # #

Contact: Abby Bell, communications specialist | (906) 440-0609