Cloverland Electric Cooperative Announces 2023 Director Election Results

DAFTER, Mich.— (June 1, 2023) — Cloverland Electric Cooperative announced results of the director elections at its Annual Meeting of the Members June 1. Cloverland is a democratically controlled, not-for-profit electric co-op governed by nine directors elected by and from the members of their respective districts to serve a three-year term. One seat per district is up for election each year. The election process is managed by an independent third-party, Survey & Ballot Systems of Eden Prairie, Minnesota. Members had the option to vote electronically or by mail-in ballot. Ballots mailed April 28 and voting concluded May 26.

District A Results

William LaLonde of St. Ignace ran unopposed and was reelected for District A. District A is also represented by Jason St. Onge of Mackinac Island and Gerald Nettleton of DeTour Village.

District B Results

John Sawruk of Sault Ste. Marie was reelected for District B, receiving 1,253 votes. Richard Tuhro of Sault Ste. Marie received 723 votes. District B is also represented by Jason Oberle and Carmine Bonacci Jr., both of Sault Ste. Marie.

District C Results

Virgil Monroe of Manistique was reelected for District C, receiving 1,503 votes. Isaac Swisher of Manistique received 913 votes. District C is also represented by Ron Provo of Manistique and Kevin Vanatta of Newberry.

Voter percentage in the 2023 election was 19.94%, with 3,745 mail-in ballots and 682 electronic ballots submitted by 4,427 cooperative members across districts B and C. Ballots were not mailed to District A since the candidate ran unopposed.

“I look forward to continuing the progress made over the last year with our incumbent board,” Cloverland’s President and CEO, Mike Heise, states. “Our election process is foundational to Cloverland’s democratic governance and ensures all members get a voice and a vote in the cooperative. I applaud 2023 director candidates’ efforts to represent members on the cooperative’s board of directors.”

Cloverland Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit, member-owned utility located in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. With hydropower making up nearly half its fuel mix, the cooperative powers 43,000 meters across 4,000 miles of power line for more than 34,000 residential and business members in Chippewa, Delta, Mackinac, Luce and Schoolcraft counties.

# # #

Contact: Abby Bell, communications specialist | 906-440-0609 |