Cloverland Electric Cooperative Announces 2021 Election Results

DAFTER, Mich.— (June 3, 2021) — Cloverland Electric Cooperative announced results of its 2021 director election at the Annual Meeting of the Members on the evening of June 3.

Cloverland is a democratically controlled, not-for-profit electric co-op governed by nine directors elected by members of their respective districts to serve a three-year term. One seat per district is up for election each year. This year, members had the option to vote electronically or by mail-in ballot, which is managed by an independent third-party, Survey & Ballot Systems of Eden Prairie, Minnesota. Ballots mailed April 26 and voting concluded May 28.

District A Results

Gerald Nettleton of DeTour Village was reelected for District A receiving 877 votes. Michael Litzner of St. Ignace received 802 votes. Kyle Brow of St. Ignace received 673 votes. Donald Moore of Hessel received 504 votes. District A is also represented by Jason St. Onge of Mackinac Island and William LaLonde of St. Ignace.

District B Results

Jason Oberle of Sault Ste. Marie ran unopposed and was reelected for District B. District B is also represented by Carmine Bonacci Jr. and John Sawruk, both of Sault Ste. Marie. Due to a bylaw change, ballots were not mailed since Director Oberle was unopposed.

District C Results

Ronald Provo of Manistique was reelected for District C receiving 1,718 votes. Isaac Swisher of Manistique received 742 votes. District C is also represented by Allan Ott and Virgil Monroe, both of Manistique.

Voter percentage in the 2021 election was 23.47% with 4,640 mail-in ballots and 719 electronic ballots submitted by 5,359 cooperative members. With the hybrid voting option, Cloverland expects voter participation to continue to grow in coming years and encourages all members to cast votes for representatives for their district.

Cloverland’s President and CEO, Mike Heise, stated, “Thank you to all the director candidates who participated in the 2021 director election. I also want to thank members who took time to vote and participate in Cloverland’s democratic process.”

Cloverland Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit, member-owned utility located in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. With hydropower making up nearly half its fuel mix, the cooperative powers 43,000 meters for more than 34,000 residential and business members in Chippewa, Delta, Mackinac, Luce and Schoolcraft counties.

# # #

Contact: Abby Bell, communications specialist | 906-440-0609 |